the joy of the suffix

20130923_082858

Today I went to buy a sunflower planter, and noticed the variety of sunflower I was buying was called ‘topolino’ -which reminded me of another one of my favourite things about the Italian language : the use of suffixes! ‘topo’ means mouse, so ‘topolino’ means baby mouse. Or ‘Topolino’ – Mickey Mouse!

Another one I learned on my holidays : for big things simply add -one. An example is ‘ombrello’ for umbrella becoming ‘ombrellONE’ for a beach umbrella. You gotta love it! Ok that’s all my brain is capable of this morning since my son#1 woke me up at 5:30 am !!!!!

Leave a Reply

